Love Songs

Welcome to a new blog, Love Songs For Jesus. A part of me really wanted to call this Making Love With Jesus, but I was afraid that even though I meant it innocently, it might draw readers who would mock me rather than those who would understand what I meant.

But here’s the thought behind it. When I’m full-out worshipping God, it is the most intimate experience I’ve ever had. Nothing else comes close. I wanted to convey that feeling. The new title came to me this morning as I was reading Psalms, which are nothing but love songs to God. And I decided that’s what I wanted this blog to be, a song to the lover of my soul.

“I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” That’s Psalm 27:13-14, and it was part of what I read this morning. I think there’s such an interesting interplay there. We wait for the Lord, but we can take heart while we do so, because we are confident. Where does that confidence come from? From him. So while we’re waiting, he’s already here. We wait to see the goodness he will bring, but we are confident because when we look with the right eyes, we can see the goodness that is already here.

There are things I’m waiting for him to do, things I’m utterly dependent of him for, because there’s nothing I can do about them on my own. But while I’m waiting, I can enjoy what he has for me now. I don’t have to be like the guy in Dr. Seuss’s Oh The Places You’ll Go–stuck in the waiting place, for people just waiting. I’m waiting, and I’m simultaneously content. How is that possible? Because I’m confident in him. I’m confident that his plans are good and that they will be accomplished in his time.

I’m fascinated by the paradoxes in God. Sometimes he just tickles me!

About lovesongsforjesus

Melissa Zabel is a writer and artist who lives in near Dallas, TX, with her husband, son and overweight cat. She loves to create new things. You can find her handcrafted, handpainted art beads at paperandwhimsies.com. Melissa's other loves are musical theater and Disney World. She is awed by the love she shares with Jesus.
This entry was posted in Loving Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment